Ice Dogs Hockey

nahl--fairbanks_ice_dogs_2005-06

Tonight was my first ever trip to a hockey match! Wow what an experience. I walked through the doors and stood in line for my tickets. I heard the team come out and it made me super excited to get into the match! I needed to have snacks when I got in.  The transaction felt too long.   I was gripping my tickket for most of the game before I realized I had a wallet I could stash it safely away in. Being over 21,  I decided to go on the drinking side, and  found out shortly where the seats were located…the other side. I finished my one beer and decided to join the family oriented seat providing side of the rink. There were a lot of children. Most of them seemed disinterested the game but oddly enough most of them had jerseys. It was as if they were their parent’s personal advertising boards. There were some exceptions of course. A few of the children had anger management problems and got into the game way too much. They were way worse than any of the adults drinking. These kids were the true fans. Finally I was established with snacks in hand to watch the third period of the game.  Talk of jerseys lured me back downstairs to check some prices. OUTRAGEOUS! That should have been expected. I bought a key chain instead, but that’s okay i loved it just as much. It was squishy. I haven’t been educated on the rules of hockey, so sometimes it was hard to follow but I was mesmerized from the moment I arrived. I found myself judging people for chanting but shortly after I realized I had joined them. They got me. I felt myself getting emotionally invested. Both teams were really taking hard hits, and beating on each other. I should have been prepared. I knew hockey was a violent sport. Non-the less, I LOVED IT. One thing that really surprised me is how familiar the players looked to me. I’ve seen these guys around. I love that small town homey feel. Its like Fairbanks is a family linked in.

Thank you Ice Dogs for giving me some sporting culture.

NewIceDogs

Leave a Reply

